I was weighed at my dr's office. I'm a 5'5" female. Now 326 lbs. (a few years after the...

Amy, Daredevil
Extraordinaire

on 1/23/14 3:47 pm - Los Angeles, CA
DS on 08/06/13

I agree with you re: a few things. Yes, both sides of every surgery should be spoken about. But I don't see you talking much about the positives of the DS (which are quite a few).

I also don't like recommending one surgery over the other. I can only speak to the one I had (and I'm a newbie at that), so I have limited experience. When I do extol the virtues of the DS, I also mention the need for greater supplementation and diligence when it comes to our health. 

The best thing we can do for people researching the surgeries is to list the pros and cons of each surgery (the ones that are widely accepted as FACT) and let them choose the surgery that's best for their given situation.

While you may have heard some stories of certain surgeons who do not perform the DS any longer (for whatever reason), I have stories of surgeons who prefer the DS over the other surgeries because of the success they have seen in their patients. Bottom line: anecdotal evidence is not evidence.

You claim only 50 surgeons perform this surgery. I'm not sure where you are getting this information from. OH has 149 listed, and I'm sure OH is not a comprehensive list.

I still have to disagree with you about the "highest risk". I think your information may be based on studies where the DS patients started off with higher BMIs than their RNY or VSG counterparts. This fact alone could be the reason they were considered "higher risk", not the fact that they had the DS (correlation vs. causation).

When you look at this chart (that's based on 19 different studies), it shows that the DS has a lower risk of failure and revisions than some of the other WLS.

*DS with Dr. Ara Keshishian on 08/06/13* SW: 231 CW: 131 GW: 119 * Check out My YouTube Channel: AmysDSJourney *

AnneGG
on 1/23/14 9:28 pm, edited 1/23/14 9:32 pm