Why do you say it is harder further out?

Michelle I.
on 1/29/14 5:47 am - VSG-1/6/14, CA

Hello fellow sleeves! 

I am a newbie revision from the band to sleeve on 1/6/14.  I have been reading and reading a lot of posts, blogs, and searching websites.  And I have noticed a lot of sleeve's post it gets harder the further you are out from surgery.  I don't understand.  Maybe I am just slow....but how is it harder?  Our stomach is still the same size, right?  I mean it does not get bigger, does it?

Please tell me what is it that makes you say it gets harder down the line.  I am truly curious.

Thanks

danixbanani
on 1/29/14 5:52 am - NY
VSG on 10/12/12 with

I'm a band to sleeve revision too.  I can't tell you the exact science behind it all but the farther out you are, usually you become more lax with the rules and usually you can eat more in a sitting.  The whole point is to have the will power to not eat until you're full and just be satiated but like I said, it does become harder to control yourself.  You can imbibe more...not saying that you SHOULD but that is usually what happens to a lot of sleevers.  You have to make the most out of your first year and train yourself to not get lax on the rules.

I've been lax on the rules and I had a small regain.  I know that personally I thought "all in moderation" was okay but it really isn't if I want to continue to lose.  It is harder now because I wasn't so strict with myself so I'm sort of trying to teach myself these new habits without the added benefit of really good restriction and less hunger like I had immediately post-op.  What I can say, is that the sleeve makes it a lot easier to jump back on the horse and get going.

Don't worry too much about it...just worry about now and making those positive lifestyle changes so you won't have to worry about it later.

band to sleeve revision and loving life!

You do you, and I'll do me

Michelle I.
on 1/29/14 6:00 am - VSG-1/6/14, CA