All Plans are diff. .. BUT

bdaycakegirl
on 1/13/14 10:00 am

My program has me on 4 day liquids pre-op and actually has me eat an egg while still in the hosptial?

I have faith in this program. It is ranked well, great outcomes, yada, yada, but this seems so strange to me after reading everyone else's experiences.

hw: 311  cw:304  sw:???  gw:150

poet_kelly
on 1/13/14 10:19 am - OH

Some surgeons don't ask patients to do pre op liquids at all.  And I know a number of patients that were served things like scrambled eggs or cream of wheat in the hospital.

Talk to your surgeon if you have questions or concerns.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 1/13/14 10:28 am - OH

Well, the liquids pre-op have absolutely no relation to the post-op eating plan, but I can see why it seems weird.

There are a number of surgeons that dont do weeks of liquids and purées post-op.  Some of those surgeons, like mine, put people of soft food as soon as they can tolerate it because they have found that people who do that have far less trouble with grouchy pouches, vomiting, etc. than those who "baby" their pouches for several weeks.  The only person in our support group who had trouble with soft foods just a couple of days out had an inflamed gallbladder and was throwing up even some things like SF pudding and the cream of wheat and had to have gallbladder surgery just a couple of weeks after her RNY. No one else had any trouble beyond the normal occasional queasy feeling with a new food.