CBC number question MPV, Prealbumin & iron

Nanook609
on 9/11/13 9:31 am, edited 9/11/13 9:32 am

I just a copy of my results from the CBC I had done back in July and have a difficult time with two out of the three I had low/high numbers in.

The first was my MPV was 7.8 and listed as low

The second was the prealbumin was 45.8 and listed as high

Third iron was at 50 and listed as low.

Also, am 4+ years post-op.

Any clarity to this would be of much appreciated help, Nancy.

poet_kelly
on 9/11/13 9:40 am - OH

I'm not sure what to do about the MPV or what would make pre-albumin high.

I do know if your iron is low, you need to take more iron.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Sarahakers11
on 9/11/13 10:16 am - Culpeper, VA
RNY on 06/04/13 with
Kelly my MPV was low also and my RA said she thought it was probably related to the timing of my cycle which was when I had my blood drawn. But these were my first labs and I'm certainly no expert. Heck I could have even mid understood the RA.

HW - 297  start of Pre-op - 290.2   SW- 279.2   GW - 145    

The Depressed Hiker Blog

A middle aged over the hump and over what "I'm suppose to do" woman, with the wild spirit and a nasty case of depression and anxiety!

Nanook609
on 9/11/13 9:42 am

Thanks I don't either!  I need to see if my numbers on my iron have gone up.

Sarahakers11
on 9/11/13 10:14 am - Culpeper, VA
RNY on 06/04/13 with
My MPV and iron were also low but not drastically my RA Said it was probably because i was having or had just finished havingy period when I had blood drawn. I can't remember exactly what day it ended but I know it was within a few days of my blood draw. Just something to consider