4 years post-op and feel very tired..........

Nanook609
on 7/25/13 9:16 am

It's been over four years since my revision from lapband to RNY and over the past year I've started to feel bad and can't really put a finger on it.  I've put back about 20lbs from my original loss of about 70 over the course of years 2-3 but that's not really the issue.  I'm just tired all the time and have headaches on a daily basis.  Get dizzy also bending over and under my eyes I have huge bags!  So basically I feel like I've aged 20 years during the span of one year.  Has anyone else experienced this?  Thanks!

poet_kelly
on 7/25/13 9:21 am - OH

How's your iron and ferritin levels?  Fatigue, headaches, and dizziness are all common symptoms of iron deficiency.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Nanook609
on 7/25/13 9:26 am

I've had blood work done by my PA and at the hospital and everything looks normal so it's hard to figure out!  Maybe I need to go back to the bariatric center.

Nanook609
on 7/25/13 9:27 am

By the way I'm not familiar with "ferritin levels"

poet_kelly
on 7/25/13 9:30 am - OH

Ferritin is like your iron storage.  Have you been getting that checked when you get labs done?

It doesn't matter which doc orders your labs.  The results won't change if you go back to your bariatric center and have them order them.

Are you certain your iron level is good, though?  Do you know the number?  Or did they just tell you it was good?

And do you know what your ferritin level was?

If you don't know the numbers, you may be low on iron.  That would explain your symptoms.  Of course it could be something else, but that is the first thing I would want to check, myself.