IS RNY reversable?

happyhealing
on 9/13/11 7:28 am
Is this procedure reversable?  I mean if I keep having problems I just want to be put back the way I was.  Just wondering how that would work and if I really would NEVER be the same.
sjweiser
on 9/13/11 7:30 am
 Sorry but the RNY is not reversable.
poet_kelly
on 9/13/11 7:36 am - OH

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

poet_kelly
on 9/13/11 7:34 am - OH
It is, but it's a difficult surgery to perform and not all surgeons do it.  It can be riskier than the original surgery.  And it is possible that even after a reversal, some problems may continue.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

davis93
on 9/13/11 10:34 am - NC
 this si good to know i also have alot of problems go back to the dr friday 

Jenni_9yrspostop
on 9/13/11 8:08 am
My doctor is one of the few I guess who can do a reversal and he's done a couple that I know of. Both came out ok. If you're having problems work with your doctor, many have issues at first but afterwhile things settle down and tha patient realizes the problems were worth it. Give it some time, it's all new and we had our body operated on, not our heads. That takes a bit longer to come around.
Good luck to you -

Jen 10 yrs post op
Kat Kat
on 9/13/11 9:33 am - AZ
Just as Kelly said, my surgeon said it's reversable. Not that I'd want to go back to where I was again.

Cicerogirl, The PhD