recovery time after Abdominoplasty (sp?)

Roxanne_A
on 4/19/09 11:19 am - Arlington, TX
Okay so I work in a very high stress office job where it is hard for me to take a whole lot of time off so I am looking to find out the recovery time after an abdominoplasty? I have what I would consider a lot of skin to have removed and want to have it done soon. I have been approved and ready to move forward just want to know how long I will be out of work. The doc says at least 2-3 weeks. But I have seen longer than that out here and I want to get a few opinions.

Roxy~~~

Lap~RNY~05/28/07
"Every Day is a NEW Beginning"

kimmee2k
on 4/19/09 1:42 pm - Phoenix, AZ
Roxanne,
Everyone is diffrent. Everyone is diffrent. Depends on the health of your body how you progress. I was off for 2 week for the adminoplasty and when i had my Lower body lift and breast aug i was off for 2 weeks as well and i am a nurse who is on my feet 24/7 at work. Good coworkers to help will help you as well.
Good Luck and Best of Wishes

Kimmee
Angensam
on 4/19/09 8:01 pm - Atlanta, GA
I'm returning to work after 5 weeks, but I could have gone back at 4 weeks. I had an LBL and thigh lift. If your job doesn't involve lifting and a lot of bending, then you should be fine. Stress is another story. Clothes are often a challenge too. Some things are too big, some too tight from swelling but you can't really buy anything because you don't know what your untimate size will be.

Take off as much time as you can afford, but know that distraction from the recovery is also helpful and a job is very distracting! LOL.

Good luck.

Regina

Almost to goal!
Regina

Honeyblonde
on 4/19/09 11:03 pm - MN

I had a LBL and went back to work after 3 weeks.  I probably could have worked half days after 2 weeks but 3 weeks was better.  I still had the 2 drains in when I went back to work which was a little cumbersome, but not bad.  They are pretty easy to hide.