anyone else into weightlifting?

jkb
on 5/19/03 9:04 am - Atascadero, CA
hiya everyone! wow, new boards to play on! woohoo... i am 23 mos post op open rny and got into weightlifting in january. i'm wondering if anyone else is into it, what your sets are like, goals, how have you changed your eating and/or supplements since lifting... stuff like that... {{hugs}} kate
vli1127
on 6/7/03 1:54 pm - Boone, IA
I had RNY 6-29-01. Have gained 10 lbs and feel disgusting. I use weights to work out with aerobics, such as The Firm. So don't know about reps and such.
Melisa M.
on 3/6/04 5:48 am - Cuminestown, Scotland
I am almost one year post op and have lifted weights off and on for the last 7 years. I did not change my eating or supplements once I started lifting because I already ate a higher protein diet, as well as have been using supplements and drinking loads of water for the past 15 years. I use a different supplements now than I used to, been using them for the last three years, but that was not a change because of weight lifting. it was a change because I found out that no matter how good of quality of vitamins that I take, as long as they are in capsules or tablets my body does not absorb them. I have seen them pass through me and was rather vitamin deficent in spite of taking loads of viatmins and that was BEFORE my open RNY. so I changed to a balanced vitamin supplement that is in one product that is in powder form so when you mix it with your liquid and drink it your body can absorb it within 10 min. I have had a resolution of many things that have plauged me for years prior to my op. and since my op, both set of blood tests have come back great. in fact the last set, my doc said that he had never seen a more PERFECT set of blood tests in his life. having said all that, I have in the past kept my weights light enough so that I could do three sets of 15. Keeping the reps high and the weights lower allowed me to keep my rests shorter and get a certain amount of aerob