Pre - Surgery & hubby is un-supportive

Just meeeeee
on 10/16/11 8:00 am
RNY on 02/29/12
I haven't even made it to the cutting table yet and already my husband is making comments. Like " stupid surgery"
I can not even mention to him anything about weight loss, diets, food, etc. It sucks!!!! I know this is because of his insecurities. He wants me to stay fat!
I have no support structure and I'm just finding myself stressing and being more depressed as the end of my 6 month required diet is nearing.

Any advise????

Thank you in advance!

Amanda Harp
on 11/7/11 4:50 am
Hi, Amy, I saw your post and I just wanted you to know that you are not alone.  When I was a research therapist for a weight loss study, I heard so many stories like yours that I decided to do my doctoral dissertation to learn more about the phenomenon of  undermining of weight loss attempts by romantic partners.  There isn't much research in the literature about this.  I've been trained primarily in couples therapy, so I know the importance of this relationship to reaching all goals--especially hard to achieve goals like adopting healthy diet and exercise regimens.  You can find out more about my work by Googling me:  Amanda G. Harp, M.A. and the survey I'm developing:  Partner Undermining Behaviors-Weight Loss, PUBS-WL.  surveys.clarku.edu/Survey.aspx
Amanda G. Harp, M.A.
Doctoral Student
Clinical Psychology
Clark University
http://surveys.clarku.edu/Survey.aspx?s=eb8b5da9cb6940d88f2cfd4d48207f56
http://tinyurl.com/Clark-Study
tangoshubby
on 12/19/11 8:36 am - Canada