DS Doc Needed

PYJennings
on 9/22/14 4:03 am - Silver Spring, MD

Finally, after battling my insurance company for 6 years, they are going to approve WLS!

Now, I need to find a doctor. I have an appointment scheduled with Dr. Nicholas S. Tapazoglou in Vienna, VA; but I would like more than one option/opinion.

Does anyone know of any DS doctors in the Washington, DC Metro Area

larra
on 9/22/14 7:25 am - bay area, CA

Apparently Dr. Tapazoglou (his name is new to me) works with Dr. Elariny, who is well known and well regarded as a DS surgeon. Dr. T completed his fellowhship just over a year ago. I have no idea how much experience he has with the DS, but his having trained with Dr. Elariny is a very good sign. These are the only surgeons in the Washington DC area that I know of who do the DS.

When you meet Dr. T, you can and should ask him the extent of his experience with the DS, and any other questions you want to assure yourself that you are in good hands. The only alternative for you that I know of would be to have a consult with Dr. Elariny, who definitely has lots of DS experiencee. It's possible that they operate together - ask!

Larra

PYJennings
on 9/22/14 7:45 am - Silver Spring, MD

Thank you so much, I actually have a consultation scheduled with Dr. T in October. I am however not all that comfortable with his limited experience.  I also doubt that Dr. Elariny performs surgery with him, as Elariny requires payment in the amount of $6k up front.

I have reached out to a Dr. in NYC by the name of Mitchell S. Roslin at Lenox Hill Hospital. I know two of his patients personally who have been very successful.

MajorMom
on 9/22/14 6:54 pm - VA