Best DS surgeon for self-pay?

KarenFlorida
on 4/17/11 11:17 pm - Orlando, FL
Hello-
I am new to this forum, but have been lurking for a while.  I am hoping/planning to have DS surgery sometime this year.  My health insurance does not cover bariatric surgery, and therefore I will be self-pay.  I am trying to locate the  DS surgeons in the US who have the lowest self-pay rates.  I am a medical professional, a surgical PA in fact, and I do understand that the lowest price is not always the best.  I am looking for experienced, reputable surgeons, but will tend to gravitate toward an experienced, reputable surgeon with the best rates!  I live in Florida, and to my knowledge there are no DS surgeons in Florida, so I am  prepared to travel.  I would appreciate any help you guys can give on this! 
Karen
Elizabeth N.
on 4/17/11 11:23 pm - Burlington County, NJ
Your best choices for self pay in the USA are Dr. William Peters in PA, Dr. Daryl Stewart in TX and Dr. Paul Kemmeter in MI. Their contact information is on www.dsfacts.com . All three are outstanding surgeons of excellent reputation.

If you choose to go to Mexico, there is ONE option, and that is Dr. Gilberto Ungson in Hermasillo. Ignore all other names, no matter what anyone says. You might well be contacted by someone from the practice of another Mexican surgeon based on this post. It happens sometimes. Do not go there.

Another possible self pay option would be Dr. Michel Gagner in.....oh darn, I want to say Toronto but I don't think that's right. Someone else will likely jump in here shortly with his current information.
P. Poster
on 4/17/11 11:35 pm
 Dr. Gagner in Montreal :)

You can also look into Dr. Hazem Elariny in Vienna, Virginia- but I am not sure of his self pay rates (though I know he accepts them and is a GREAT surgeon).   The surgeons that EN mentioned are ones with great rates, and as she mentioned, stellar records as well.
Elizabeth N.
on 4/18/11 12:58 am - Burlington County, NJ