any professional dog groomers????

BIGGAL
on 11/18/04 8:24 am - gulfport, fl
Hey, I just joined the site this week. Is anyone having any know how with the dog grooming industry?????It takes a long time to build skills...sometimes I get frustrated. I haven't had surgery and wanting it bad. I am unemployed too.
kathline W.
on 1/7/05 2:31 pm - San Marcos, TX
Hi Heather, I am a professional groomer, however I work out of my home and do grooming part - time. I have a full time job in the telephony industry that I've been with for 17 years. I find dog grooming extremely fulfilling, I have 4 dogs of my own, a pomerania, 2 ****ers and a pug. I would suggest you take a class, its not difficult however, you need to be trained. Sometimes, Petsmart, or one of the larger stores offer classes, you might start their. I took a course through Thompson Education Direct, they do have a payment plan. You can find them on the internet You will need dogs to work on while your learning, you might try the city pound or try offering some friends free services while you learn. I have about 2000 invested in equipment and supplies at my shop. this is very minimal, you will need cages, table, clippers , blades, different shampoos, a bathing facility, a dryer, brushes, combs, rakes ets... Their are also schools which have courses 8-5 they are quite expensive, around 5000.00 for a full course. Look under dog grooming on the internet. In my city, a standard breed 30 lb dog gets about 35.00 for a full groom. It takes alot of dogs to pay for the equipment. I got into this because of my own dogs . When you have 4 it's cheaper to do it yourself, so I invested in the best supplies I could afford and took a class to help me groom my animals. I only recently decided to open up publically, and I don't advertise, because I want to keep my shop small. Good luck with your goals.
Phia
on 2/8/05 10:57 am - Ypsilanti, MI