Dr. Alberto Aceves?

(deactivated member)
on 1/13/12 5:51 am - AZ
Hello Everyone! I am a newbie to the whole weight loss community. I have been weighing my options between Lap Band vs Sleeve, and am thinking the Sleeve is the better option for me.
I found Dr. Alberto Aceves after some searches and youtube videos. Since I am currently not enrolled in health insurance, this will have to come out of pocket. I've seen nothing but positive reviews on Dr. Aceves. I have gotten a chance to email with Nina in his office and one patient that I found through youtube. So far things are are panning out really well.
I'm not necessarily only looking to uncover all bad reviews on him, and I know that not everyone is going to go through this completely smoothly. I understand nausea and the learning curve of how to eat after such surgery. But, I suppose what I am looking for is someone who had a few issues, not just do to his care, but just some of the things that I can expect after having such surgery.
Also anyone who may have made the trip that can give me tips on what to do..... things that I could take to make the journey go a little more smoothly... things they've learned along the way?

Thanks!!!
kdolphin
on 1/13/12 9:04 am - FL
 HI,

I only have great things to say about Dr Aceves and his entire staff.  They removed my lap-band that I self paid for in Florida in 2007 and did my sleeve revision which of course I also self paid for.  He has done 100's of lap band revisions.

My only advice is to stay as far away as possible from the lapband.  Since I have had BOTH I can tell you they are world's apart.  I no longer puke on deli meat, I can feel full after a small amount of food and it is such a pleasure to no longer need a fill and then an unfill and since you currently don't have medical insurance the band needs a lot of maintenance.  Zero maintenance with the sleeve.

Good Luck to you and really Dr Aceves and Dr Campos who works with him did a great job for me.