I'm ready to explode---smokers

kfrain07
on 6/14/12 4:28 am - Fredericksburg, VA
 So. I have a confession to make. I quit smoking as of last night and I have been 14 hours without a cigarette. (which doesn't seem like long but I feel like I am dying). Here's my problem: I know I need to quit for the surgery on July 2 but I need some encouragement. I was never a heavy smoker and I am a nurse so I know what it can do to your health. Every time I have tried to quit I have failed miserably. I am getting blood work tomorrow and I know if there are high levs of carbon monoxide in my body it would alert them that I smoke thus probably not doing the surgery. Basically, my anxiety and irritability is taking its toll on me and it doesn't help that my family has decided to be unsupportive at this point. 

HW: 248 SW: 240 CW: 210
(deactivated member)
on 6/14/12 4:37 am
If you need it, go get some synthetic nicotine (patches, gum, whatever....). I smoked for 30 years anywhere from 1/2 a pack to a pack a day. I was a confirmed smoker. I found a fantastic hypnotherapist, went for one session and haven't smoked since. No withdrawal to speak of, no freak outs, just some rage issues on the 6th day out. Went in for a tune up session on the 7th day out and haven't looked back since.
Also, maybe see if you can get one of your docs to prescribe Chantix. I've heard it works great! I didn't use it, but my PCP thinks it's very effective.

Good luck! I'm there for you. PM me if you need to chat - I'm happy to talk you through a craving. Just don't give in. I know how hard this is. You're pre op, right? Feed the craving if you need to!
Desari63
on 6/14/12 4:38 am, edited 6/14/12 4:39 am - Hickory Creek, TX
VSG on 02/29/12