Five days post op LBL and BL update (with pics)

Dcgirl
on 3/25/15 12:49 am - DC
RNY on 12/16/13

Hi OH friends,

Thanks for your well wishes and notes of encouragement.  After my LBL and BL last Friday, the weekend was ROUGH.  I was in severe pain and couldn't tell if I had made the right decision.  Luckily Monday I woke up and felt a little more human.  Yesterday was even better - I can use my arms to hoist myself out of bed, make coffee, shower myself, attach my binder.  I even worked most of yesterday (I work in Marketing from home).  Today is even better - I will likely work the whole day (minus my Oxy nap in the afternoon).  I got up and showered and my incisions look good, I think.  Tomorrow is my post-op appointment with my surgeon.  I have no idea if he will take out one of my drains, but they don't bother me much so I will do whatever he says best.  I am still not fully upright but I no longer walk like a gorilla.  To someone on the street, I would look slightly hunched but not freakishly so.

I am posting pics since I know as i was researching these procedures, I was obsessed with reading about how people were doing and seeing how they were looking.  I still have some real pain in my abdomen from the muscle tightening but I am so thrilled with my results even this early out.  My ass even looks kind of awesome.

I am still UP 10 lbs and I forgot to take measurements so I can't tell how many inches I am up or down.  I do know that I LOVE my new shape. And it's only going to get better as time goes by.

I feel so fortunate that I only needed to take 2 or 2.5 days off work - that means I can use more days for vacations throughout the year :)  (clearly my priority ha ha).

My mom is still here until Saturday and having someone to wait on me for the first four days was necessary.  I can't imagine doing this on my own.  I can never repay her.