The Story of Seth Margolies

My name is Seth Margolies I had surgery September 23,2003 at Wittgrove Bariatric Center and I have been asked to share my story with you. Four years of Ivy League education and I could barely hold a job. Ten thousand McDonalds Cheeseburgers later and I am an expert on morbid obesity hosting a website column and being asked to make speeches on the topic before The American Society for Bariatric Surgeons. My parents must be so ticked. I did the math and forty thousand McDonald?s Cheeseburgers would have been cheaper than my college education. I am kidding of course but after nearly forty years of being heavy I do know a thing or two.

Fat ruled my life. It was my state of being, the topic of almost every medical conversation I had with Doctors and the centerpiece of discussions with friends and family my whole life since childhood. And even if it wasn?t, in my minds eye it was. I was constantly aware that I was ?not normal? not right, not healthy. I was rapidly approaching forty and most everybody I knew in life had moved forward socially, economically. I stopped moving because of my obesity. I started to feel stuck in a bad situation. I am a classically trained actor in a business that can ruin most. There is rejection at every turn. I had almost a decade of performing steadily on stage, and on television and commercials. By the time I reached 400 pounds, the auditions stopped. I had become a circus freak. My wife was on tour with the popular Beauty and the Beast and the best job that I could get was that of a janitor, (oh I am sorry operations crew,)for a prominent theater company in San Francisco. I held two degrees, knew multiple languages and I was a god- damn janitor. I was miserable, obese and mentally unhappy. I knew that I had to make a change.