For the Benefit of DS Newbies--Pls Photo ***** on This Thread

Nicolle
on 10/4/11 12:37 am, edited 10/4/11 12:46 am
A friend of mine (one of my best friend's best friends/neighbors, if you can follow) is considering WLS and naturally there are RNY and band surgeons on every corner of Chicago area, luring her in with their promises of weight loss, simplicity and cost-effectiveness. She is confused, considering her options. I am no expert, but I would guess she has about 140-150 pounds to lose to get to a healthy BMI. Naturally, I would like her to seriously consider the DS.

This lady is no dummy. In fact, she's a nurse. She's smart and lovely. I think she will be compliant with the vites, labs and protein. She has two young kids who deserve a healthy, active mom. She's seen my life story unfold and knows how much I love my DS. But the thought of traveling for WLS is a little daunting for her, in addition to all of the normal "should I really have WLS?" drama we all experience. I am not sure her hubby is 100% on board with this, either. She is at the end of her rope, though, sick of being fat and starting to see some comorbidities like high blood pressure creep in.

I am hoping she will come to our October support group meeting and meet Dr. Rabkin (yes, he travels here as often as possible to check in on us and talk to newbies) and make an informed decision.

In the meantime, can we all do a parade of DS photo whoring for her and all of the other lurkers and newbies here? I always found that fun and inspiring. (I actually would like to see some updates on a lot of you guys!) If you have any words of advice for her, please share them, too. I will point her to this thread once it gets up and running. See my entry below.

Thanks!

Nicolle

ETA: I found this thread from a long time ago that has lots of befores and afters--Topic: DSers - time to post your before and afters...... Hope it works.