Sweeteners... artificial, real... whatever?

frankurban
on 2/23/10 6:28 am - CA
Is there any sweetener out there (artificial or real) we can use that doesn't screw with our digestive system?

I've been looking around and can't find a single one. They're either real and filled w/ carbs or artificial w/ warnings of potential gas, diarrhea, etc.

I use Stevia right now and I think it's screwing with me. I drink a lot of tea and need something to sweeten it.
Frank
(deactivated member)
on 2/23/10 6:38 am - Minneapolis area, MN
I don't know a whole lot about them--does sucralose cause problems with your digestive system?
Rocky-Raccoon
on 2/23/10 6:41 am, edited 2/23/10 6:41 am - XX
Some brands of stevia includes some sugar alcohols.�

Rhaynefall
on 2/23/10 6:44 am - Clarksville, IN
Splenda doesn't bother me as long as I don't go bat**** crazy with it.
Karen F.
on 2/23/10 7:20 am - Rockaway Beach, MO
I've been using Sweet N Low (saccharine) for almost 40 years.  Hasn't caused me any problems since my DS.

Karen

Highest weight:261 (2/07), First Consult weight: 242 (12/4/07)
Day of Lap Band Surgery: 213.2 (4/16/08)
Day of revision to DS: 208 (10/16/2009), Current weight: 138.0

beemerbeeper
on 2/23/10 7:39 am - AL
I think this is very individual.  I haven't seemed to have any problems with artificial sweeteners.  I use a lot of splenda.

Sugar alcohols on the other hand cause terrible gas.  So I work to avoid them.

Becky

krissywats
on 2/23/10 7:43 am - Kew Gardens, NY
I use (GASP) real sugar.  So far no weight loss issues - 32 lbs to goal at seven months out.  I'm careful-ish, as in I wouldn't drink sweetened tea every day - I mostly drink water.  But yeah - I just use the real stuff.  And I have a treat of some kind every single day.