Question:
Any Jello substitute that is animal product free?
A vegetarian friend told me he doesn't eat jello as it contains beef bone marrow. (Gross). I had no idea. Is there anything else that will work the same as jello that doesn't have bone marrow? This is strawberry pie season, and I almost can't stomach the pies knowing that jello is/or contains "bone marrow". I find it very disgusting. I use to love jello too. Thanks. — Danmark (posted on June 25, 2002)
June 25, 2002
I do believe that is what gelatin is... I thought it was some kind of
horse/hoof product (I very well could be wrong!) but any product that has
gelatin in it- not just jello- is not a 'vegan' thing.....
— Karen R.
June 25, 2002
"Gelatin is the protein substance obtained by boiling animal bones and
connective tissue containing collagen in water or dilute acid. It is
colorless, transparent, brittle, odorless, and tastless in a purified form.
It dissolves in hot water and forms a gel or jelly upon cooling. When
placed in cold water, gelatin takes up five to ten times its own weight and
swells to an elastic transparent mass"
— Karen R.
June 25, 2002
Here is one link: http://www.healthy-eating.com/pantry_items.htm#Vegetarian
Gelatin Substitute<p>or you can just search for vegetarian gelatin.
It does have sugar in it, tho, except for the plain. I wasn't able to find
flavored, sugar-free, vegetarian jello. One too many restrictions, I guess.
I think jello is gross, too, but it does taste good with strawberries!
— ctyst
June 25, 2002
Boy that is the most god awful thing I've ever heard. EUWAH!! I had no
idea what it was I just ate it all this time. I sure hope I can find a sub
:-0
— pcollin4
June 26, 2002
Yes, ther are subsitute. Try your local health food store. Is there a
whole foods store in your area? If so try there. Ask them for a
vegetarian sage gelatin or something that can substitute for it. Perhaps,
bring your recipe along. good luck
— MsGlitterDiva
Click Here to Return