April in Seattle

Ape
on 4/11/06 3:35 am - Bothell, WA
My husband is hoping to have RNY surgery in July 2006. I am a school teacher and will be on summer break then. I am looking for a family support group for people having WLS here in the East Lake Washington area. Does anyone have any advice? He is getting depressed and anxious and we all could use some support.
auntlorlee
on 4/11/06 4:36 am - Bellingham, WA
Hi April! Welcome to the board! If you look up in the far right corner of this page, there is a "Support Groups" button to click on. Select Washington and it will give you a whole list of support groups in the area. I don't know of any specifically that would be the best to go to since I live wayyyy up north. But hopefully someone else on here can give you some insight! Good luck and again, WELCOME!!! Take care! Lori
findinglisa
on 4/11/06 9:11 am - Bothell, WA
Hi April, Dr. Lauter was my surgeon as well, and I also live in Bothell! There is a support group that meets at Evergreen Hospital the second Tuesday of each month at 7 PM. We have lots of family members attend, as well as the actual bypass patients. I think you'll find that both you and your husband can benefit from the meetings. In fact, I'm going to the meeting this evening. Lisa
kdietsch
on 4/11/06 1:53 pm - Everett, WA