About time I introduced myself

sweetredgl
on 11/15/05 12:04 pm - Kent, WA
I have been lurking on this message board for a while now. Never had a chance to say hello. Now, I do, so here goes. My name is Carrie and I am 24 yrs old. I had Open Resectional Gastric Bypass on 10/19. My surgeon was Dr. Clifford Porter. So I am about 1 month post op. My pre-op weight was 304lbs and today I weighed in at 284lbs. I am 5'6", and have no comorbidities. I live in Washington state, trying to gain independence from my parents (living with dad right now). Decided to have wls upon entering a grocery store and getting pointed at after being passed over for a job because the other applicatant was a size 2 with only a high school education. I graduated from college in 2004 with a bachelor of arts in sociology and a bachelor of science in psychology and a minor in women's studies. It has come to my attention that I have been passed over repeatedly for jobs because of my weight. I have been unable to get a decent job that matches my education because of this as well. I am currently unemployed again because the job that I was working at was unwilling to deal with the time off I needed for recovery. I live in Puyallup, Washington and have grown up in Sumner/Auburn area (Central Puget Sound). Have never had a romantic relationship with someone because of my weight. Its always been the great friend type and thats it. I was rather active in high school (captain of the colorguard, baseball manager), but could never manage to lose weight. I have always had a weight problem even at my most active I was still 50lbs overweight. I guess that sums me up a little. If I forgot anything, feel free to ask. I am working to get a couple pics of me up. Anyway, I look forward to becoming a part of this messageboard.
auntlorlee
on 11/16/05 12:58 am - Bellingham, WA