New Kid on the block!

yulyburger
on 11/6/05 3:05 am - Kirkland, WA
I have been researching surgery for 20 years when a friend of mine had surgery. Three years ago my best friend had a bypass and she looks great and has energy. Last year I was diagnosed with type II diabetes, high blood pressure, high cholesterol and I was already on a CPAP. I thought I better get down to business and figure out some changes. I originally set out to get the Lap-band but after meeting my surgeon and the info meeting I change my mind. I met with my surgeon on Thusday the 3rd and he is submitting all my paper work in to Aetna. I hope to have a date very soon. He said will try to do it before the end of the year.PTL
Tricia W.
on 11/6/05 11:26 am - Yakima, WA
Welcome. I think this site will be a very useful tool for you. I am amazed at how knowledgeable wls people are. I have made a lot of decisions on different things based on this site. I too am hoping to have surgery by the end of the year. I am going to end up being a self pay after fighting with the insurance companies. I can't waste anymore time. Keep us posted on when your date is. Who is your surgeon? Good Luck!!!! Trish
karen C.
on 11/12/05 10:31 pm - Kennewick, WA
Tricia, Sounds like we have a few things in common. I too was a self pay due to a "heartless" insurance company. Uniform Medical won't cover WLS even "if medically necessary." What a load of Crap! However, that doesn't change things. My 94 yr old mom loaned me the money, I am now almost 9 mos post op LAP RNY and I have lost 153 lbs. I weigh 224 down from 377. My life has changed. I'm living life fully now, not jus****ching from the sidelines. I live in Kennewick not far from you. Let me know if I can do anything to support you as you begin this journey. My kids are both WSU grads so I remember those Mom's weekends well! Best wishes to you as you begin this journey. It's an incredible ride and well worth it. You won't regret it. Karen
BARBARA E.