Question...

AC M.
on 3/30/05 9:46 am - Colbert, WA
Hi, I'm just starting out and am wondering how you go about comparing surgeon's outcomes and compare them to national averages. Is there a website or something that has this information. Also, I keep seeing somthing about RNY distal or --- (Can't remember the word). What is this about? What is the difference. Thanks for you help! I'm sure I'll have more questions soon, AC
lilchickad
on 3/30/05 11:38 am - Bonney Lake, WA
You are probably hearing RNY Distal or Proximal...the difference is the length of your intestines that are left intact; i.e. the amount of time your body will have to absorp whatever is taken in. With a Proximal, they leave more intestine, so you have more time to absorb...medial they leave a little less than proximal, and distal is even less intestines left. That is a very "lay" term explanation, but you should get the idea. Laura
JustHat
on 3/30/05 11:43 am - NM