2:30 to 3:30 am

JustHat
on 2/4/05 8:57 pm - NM
So, what do you do for fun in the middle of the night? Sometimes I like to take the dog for a walk. And, some nights, I like to see how life on the dark side would be. OK, so it wasn't really my choice. And, I found out I am not good at it at all. Take tonight for instance. I can't sleep. So, I decide to take the dog out for a lap. All was great until we tried to get back in the house. The lock is one of those where it will either auto lock or not. I don't really like the auto lock, but the kids turn it on sometimes to surprise me. Boy was I surprised when I found out they had it on tonight. I have no idea how old it is out there, but too cold to sleep out there. Plus, can you imagine the rumors if I was asleep out on the doorstep when the neighbors started getting up in the morning. For 15 minutes I rang the doorbell. For 15 minutes, no one can. I decided to add an extra element and started beating on the kids' window with a broom. Our house is two story, so it was a balancing act just to get the broom high enough. I knew I would probably scare the heck out of them. But, I was getting cold. Giving up on that, I decide to try DH's bedroom window. Surely he will get pissed off and look out if someone is throwing stuff at the side of the house. OK, so I was aiming for the window, but my aim is bad. Nope, he didn't care if Canada had just invaded WA state. He slept through it. Feeling really stupid now and not wanting to have to sleep in the car, I decide it is time to break in to the house. Because of the puppies, we have the gate blocked in the back yard. So, I have to climb over it. Not a pretty picture. And, I figure that if a cop is going to drive by, it will probably be at this point and I will get shot. Although, I doubt that sound of either the gun shot or my screaming in pain from being shot in the rear would wake anyone in my house up. :-/ Once in the back yard, I realize I am going to have to get to a second st