WHAT IS A CHEF TO DO?????

Joel D.
on 1/29/05 5:10 am - marysville, WA
I am wondering if I get the gastric bypass surgery how will it effect my job? I am a chef for a large hotel group and part of my job is to taste foods to make sure they are being prepared properly. I do not have to taste allot nothing more than a 1/2 teaspoon or so but I am concerned how this will effect my outcome as I will have to taste rich foods with lots of fat. I am most concerned about the sugar part though, how will I be able to taste sugar products and not have a violent reaction that I keep hearing about called dumping. Would it make more sense to have the banding done instead. My family doc says no way go for the bypass. I have my first appointment with the bariatric surgeon on Feb 1st, Doctor Lauter and am excited to hear about this process. I am concerned that I keep reading about these people who want to die because they have had this surgery. Luckily most of what I read about are the people who are now loving life because of the surgery. With the current medical conditions I currently have I cannot imagine my life much worse because of the surgery. I have a bmi of 52, I have sleep apnea, a irregular heartbeat, I need a hip replacement, I have joint and back pain. I would just like to hear from some people answers to my questions and some support telling me I am going in the right direction. Thank You.
KuuipoCloud
on 1/29/05 6:03 am - Oak Harbor, WA
Welcome, Joel! That's a difficult question! One I would definitely pose to my surgeon, but my first inclination would be is there anyone else that could do the tasting for you?? Michelle
skudoozie
on 1/29/05 6:12 am - Elk, WA