New Here

Penny K.
on 11/4/04 4:11 am - Davenport, WA
Hi Everyone, I have been lurking around here now for about a week and thought it was time I come out of hiding and introduce myself to everyone. My name is Penny and I live in Davenport. I'm 42 years old and have been married to my wonderful hubby (who I only knew a week) for 19 years (20 on January 18th). I grew up in Yakima and Moxee, and moved to Spokane when I met my DH. I worked as a certified nurses aid up until the time I got married and became a Mom. DH and I have 2 boys, Kevin who is 19 and Christopher who will be 13 on the 17th of Feb. I have been overweight all my life and right now I weigh in at 467 lbs. and my legs and knees hurt me all the time, my hips hurt so bad most of the time that sometimes I wish that I could just cut me off at the wasit and start over again. I have no energy and I am tired all of the time. I am lucky if I can get 3 hours a night of sleep because of my legs and hips. I have high blood pressure that runs around 170\90 and I am diabetic. I dont take meds for the diabetes but I am on 2 blood pressure meds. Also I have to live on tylenol 3 for the pain in my hips and legs. My hobbies are Cross Stitch, watching movies, reading, writing letters (snail mail), and playing Zoo Tycoon on the computer. I am just starting on my journey into WLS and have my preapproval from my insurance company. In fact I got that before I even had an appointment with a surgeon. And all I had to do to get the appointment with the surgeon was call my PCP and she called and made the referral that same day. My first appointment with Dr. Rawlins is scheduled for Nov. 24th at 9:30. I know this is something I want and need to do for me but I am scared to death and have no one I can talk to. Hubby will support me in whatever choice I make of that I have no doubt but he just isn't much of a talking person and doesn't understand what I am going through. Well I guess that is about all there is to know about me for