What would you ask a politician who could help you???

ronascott
on 7/1/04 12:26 am - San Antonio, TX
Hi Friends! It's me again, your trusty pest, continuing to ask you for info that will aid in my lobbying the government on a local, state and national level to eliminate obesity discrimination AND to make insurance coverage for surgical weight loss a mandatory benefit. Even though I'm in Alabama I am working to lobby all 50 states. It's pay it forward time..........can you please, please help me by answering this question. If you could sit face to face with anyone in power and make a difference.....what would you say to them about WLS and how it will change or has changed your life? Hugs, Rona Your Bari-Godmother
sharon M.
on 7/1/04 1:46 am - everett, wa
Hi Rona, Its wonderful that you are working to help us! I am a newbie here, and even though I have been researching getting WLS for YEARS, I am only NOW just getting truly serious and GETTING it done ASAP. I will have to pay for it out of pocket, of course, because our insurance has WLS as a Written Exclusion. As for what I would say to someone with the power to change it? Well, I would start by pointing out, that the insurance covers all the things that my Obesity is causing, but not actually treat the Obesity itself! My insurance just paid over $4000 for a sleep study for my sleep apnea, which was caused by my Obesity! They are paying for the Cpap machine that I now have to use for the REST of my life (but I hate it so, I don't use it every night). They cover expensive nasal sprays to help with snoring, (They don't work either) They pay for all my hypertension medications and follow-ups, that I will have for the rest of my life; but at the same time, when I had been able to lose weight (for only a short period of time), my BP improved Greatly! They pay for my prescriptions for my Acid Reflux problems. I have had one surgery on my foot/leg already, which was because my weight put a strain on that tendon which had t