Experiences with Dr. McMahon &/or TriCare

kayakinbum
on 8/17/09 8:00 am - Seattle, WA
VSG on 02/23/10 with
Hi!  I'm new to this journey and have decided to have a LapRNY.  I'm near Everett.

I'm wondering if anyone has experience with Dr. Ross McMahon they would like to share.

Also, I'm TriCare/TriWest and was hoping to hear from others on their experiences with the approval process, etc.  My husband is retired Coast Guard so we are civilians and use civilian doctors.  :)

Thanks!
Susan O.
on 8/17/09 9:47 am - Tacoma, WA
RNY on 06/27/07 with
 The best thing to do is go to the Tricare office and get a copy of the criteria you need to meet to be eligible for the surgery. It used to be 100% over with co-morbidities, and 200 % if no co-morbidities, but may have changed. The approval process will be the same as with any Tricare. If you are prime, they will first try to send you to military hosp., if not, you probably have to follow the Medicare regs. of using only a facility that is listed as a Bariatric Center of Excellence.

These are assumptions based on my former job as a Tricare benefits rep, however many things have changed in the past few years, so I recommend a visit to a Tricare rep.  If you don't get the answers you need, call another base, because, as with anything, there are different levels of knowledge depending on how long the rep has been with Tricare.

Good Luck!!

Susan 

www.obesityhelp.com/group/ttnt/

RNY 6/2007   120 pounds lost - GOAL!!

Fr33P4m
on 8/17/09 10:40 am
RNY on 12/04/12 with
I am TriCare standard. My husband is retired Air Force, but I have Health Ins. through my job. I asked my civilian Dr. for a referal to Madigan for Gastric surgery. He did it, and I have been going through pathways at Madigan.
LisaAnn
on 8/17/09 12:41 pm - WA
Hi, I have not heard of your surgeon, but wanted to say HI, I am just a bit North of you, in Marysville. It is rare to see people up this way!!!