WA Individual Insurance Coverage Issue

greggipod
on 4/27/09 12:21 pm - Lynnwood, WA
My name is Greg. I'm 29 and live in Lynnwood.

I have researched WLS for the past couple of years, and I am now at the point where I am ready to start the process. Of course, this will not be easy--as I have already hit my first roadblock.

I am a full-time college student and I work part-time--so I am ineligible for an employer-sponsored group insurance plan. In looking for an individual health care plan, I am finding that all of the insurance companies that I have called so far have RNY as an exclusion on all individual plans. Are there insurance companies out there that cover RNY on individual plans? Or am I in search of a unicorn?!

I feel a pressing need for an intervention for the sake of my health--as all the men on my father's side of the family have/had Type II Diabete Mellitus in addition to having/had heart disease. My father passed away last April of a heart attack--at the age of 69.
Sheryl R.
on 4/28/09 1:19 am - Buckley, WA
Hi Greg,
I know I have seen conversations on OH about this topic. It seems that the answer was usually what you have found out so far, that individual policies normally exclude wls.  In the corner of my mind, though, it seems like someone did find coverage.  Have you tried the OH search engine?  You might be able to come up with some of those earlier posts.

The best to you.
Sheryl

Only "obese" now!

pam H.
on 4/30/09 2:48 am - Renton, WA
 Hi Greg! I have a few ideas you might consider. I am very sympathetic to your situation. You could consider switching jobs. I know you need to work part-time now. I work in a local hospital, and most offer health insurance if you work at least 24 hours a week. I know Starbucks used to offer health insurance for those who worked at least 17 hours a week, but I don't know if that's still true.