Hello Everyone Newbie here

choose2lose
on 10/25/08 6:45 am - Puyallup, WA

Hi,
my name is Jennifer and I am residing in Tacoma/Seattle area.
I am new to this site and am looking forward to getting to know you folks.

After all the waiting between all those tests; I finally have my "life changing”, surgery date. It will be one week be4 Thanksgiving...LOL   I will have a lot 2 be thankful even if I cannot eat anything.

I have a question for you folks that have been there and done that. Even though I want this more than anything, I also am starting to feel a tab bit scared. IS that crazy or what? Oh one more question, prior to the 1000 calorie diet, did you find yourself wanting to just eat at favorite places and for a lack of a better words, just eat all and anything you desired?

Health and happiness,
Jen

Beetle
on 10/25/08 8:13 am - Brisbane (Norman Park), Australia

Hello Jennifer and a warm welcome!

Surely it is normal to be a little nervous, it is a pretty big step, after all.
Re dieting: I was told to lose 30lbs before surgery (I made it to 27), so no, I had to be good for weeks before the surgery already.
Low carb and high protein, then 10 days of liquids only before surgery. Then all the weeks of liquids and then pureed afterwards.......it was tough, but I made it through.

My surgery and recovery were super easy, and I have pretty much no issues.
I don't have any food problems, and I don't even dump.

I will cross fingers that you'll sail through as easily as I have, but that you get to lose the darn weight faster than I am.

Best of luck to you!

Hi, I'm Karin  Start 310 / Surgery 283 / Current 168 / Goal 150
Would you like help with a photo or avatar? Contact me ...

choose2lose
on 10/26/08 1:10 am - Puyallup, WA