Stupid Madigan Surgery Clinic!!!

Annie B.
on 3/26/08 2:46 am, edited 3/26/08 2:47 am - Dalzell, SC
RNY on 02/27/08 with
Ugh!  I'm so angry!!!!!!

I called yesterday because I was concerned about the pain I was in still...I'm new at this whole surgery thing, and wanted to make sure things were ok.  Sounds reasonable doesn't it?  So I called yesterday, talked to this very nice nurse.  Explained everything.  She agreed that I probably shouldn't still be taking Oxycodone at four weeks post - op.  I was concerned about the addictive quality of it, but also I needed something for pain!  She said she'd talk to Dr. Sebesta that afternoon and call me back.  

Well, I never did get a call back, so I called this morning.  I had to re-explain everything to a different nurse, who basically said if the Oxy is working, keep taking it.  And what was it that I was needing?  He didn't understand.  I told him I was new at all this and concerned about having so much pain - and I needed to know if this was normal...if I should still be taking the oxycodone or what.  He also said that I can try tylenol as well.  I asked if they can prescribe the liquid tylenol, but he said that it's the same as the kid's stuff in the stores, and I would have to come in and be evaluated in order to get it prescribed to me.  So unfortunately the couple of times early on I tried the tylenol, it made me really nauseated, so dh threw it away!!!  Then he tells me if I have any other questions I need to call Meg.  WTF?!!!?!?!?  When did MEG ever say she was there for post-op support.  Like I WANT to call her.  She didn't make for a very friendly post-op support person to call.

UGH!!! I'm SO ANGRY right now.  He basically told me - don't call us anymore - call Meg.

~Annie  High 315 / Post-Op 309.2 / Current 149

Shelley S.
on 3/26/08 3:39 am - Ft Lewis, WA