HI--I'M BRAND NEW to this WASHINGTON FORUM

(deactivated member)
on 11/6/07 1:10 pm - My home in GOD's country
Hi, I didn't even know THERE was a WASHINGTON FORUM until tonight when I was playing around with the buttons on the main page of the OH.  So I clicked on the Washington button and voila...here we are! HI ALL you Washatonians?  Where are you all from and What's YOUR story?  I'll start (I ccp'd this from a reply I made earlier to another NEWBIE here...hope you don't mind!

Hi, my name is Angie, I am NEW to THIS "Washington Board"; I live in Yakima, Washington.  I have been on the OH "DS" Forum for over a year and a half. 

* Due to NO INSURANCE, I self-paid for my Duodenal Switch Surgery that I had done in Brazil by Dr. Marchesini May 23, 2006.
* I have currently lost 134 lbs and am 23 lbs from goal (317 to 183 so far). 
* I no longer have any symptoms of diabetes.
* My blood pressure is normal (use to be high).  
* I no longer suffer from aches and pains brought on by obesity (now they are only from being 55 years old.. 
Laugh ...and THEN they are few and far between)!
** See my Profile for all of the things I am able to do NOW compared to before the surgery!

My daughter (29) had the DS surgery 10 months (July 2005) prior to my having it (May 23, 2006).  Witnessing her entire journey during the whole process; from RESEARCHING all kinds of WLS to choosing the DS, to having the surgery, and watching her recovery and the way she was able to eat and still lose SO MUCH WEIGHT (she has lost about 145 lbs so far), not to mention, she no longer suffers from PCOS. She has also had a baby since having had the surgery and she did phenomenally well and was much healthier than during her first two pregnancies pre-op.