Looking for information

Beepshouse
on 6/5/07 5:31 am - Lynden, WA
Hi, I am new to this.  I am considering WLS of some sort.   How do you know if your insurance will cover anything?   I saw a picture of myself taken of myself last weekend and wanted to cry at how horrible I look.   Where do I start?
nanadebbie
on 6/6/07 10:13 am
Hi, The easiest thing to do is just call your insurance and ask them if they cover any type of weight loss surgery.  I have found a lot of insurances only cover the RNY as opposed to the lapband.  I don't know which one you have in mind but you really need to research both of them to see if you think they'll work for you.  I had the lapband which means you lose weight slower but there are less problems with eating and absorbing the nurtrients from food.  It can also be removed if for some reason you have a problem.   Anyway, I wish you luck.  There is also a page which lists different insurances that have paid for wls too here.  Check it out. Debbie
corinnaq
on 6/8/07 1:02 pm - Woodinville, WA