Date Set - What to bring to hospital?

cwest66
on 11/2/06 9:14 am - Seattle, WA
Hi all - I'm a newbie and I'm having my RNY Open surgery Dec. 1 at Stevens Hospital in Edmonds with Dr. Weber. Can anyone tell me what to expect directly after surgery as far as pain, etc. and what things I need to bring to the hospital with me to make my stay more comfy? I haven't had my pre-surgical appt. yet so I thought I would ask here. Any comments are appreciated! Thanks, Colleen
SusanL
on 11/2/06 11:38 am - Somewhere out there, WA
Colleen, Congrats on your surgery date. I had my procedure lap and didn't use anything in my bag. I was given slipper socks and a robe to use. You will most likely be in the hospital longer but from what I have read on this board most people don't use 3/4 of the stuff they bring. The only two things I used were my lotion (I have very dry skin) and my lip balm. As for pain you are give a pump so you can self adminster you pain meds. Best of luck. Susan
a2jkeith
on 11/2/06 12:53 pm
Hey Colleen, It all depends on whether you have your RNY laproscopic or open. Just bring yourself really as far as what to bring to the hospital. I didn't take anything when I went lol, just me and an angel or two As far as pain, they have good drugs Even for the recovery, they give me some liquid percocet which made everything ok with the world lol! Just beware as those strong meds jack your digestive system up a bit and will give you BM problems but, its totally worth it. If you need an angel to visit you in the hospital lemme know, and I will come visit God Bless, Mike Price
Karen B.
on 11/2/06 12:55 pm - Port Angeles, WA