Another Newbie Seeking Advice

Redhead_Momma
on 6/21/06 3:30 pm - Monroe, WA
Hi all. I am new to the messageboard and could use some help. I am covered by state insurance as I am a contracted worker for DSHS....same as if I had a medical coupon. I have been told that bypass or any other weight loss surgery is not covered. Does anyone have any knowledge or could tell me where to start to get it covered? I fit all the criteria that was posted when I used to have Group Health insurance.....I am confused and frustrated...and while I waste time my condition is just getting worse. I have severe neuropathy of the feet and my quality of life sucks! Please let me know if you have any ideas or information to share. Thanks, Karen
auntlorlee
on 6/22/06 1:51 am - Bellingham, WA
Ms. Karen... I sure hope you find answers. It is very frustrating in the beginning trying to find all the right answers. I hope that someone can help you with your questions. Insurance seems to change daily with the requirements for surgery. Or you find that they cover it and then all of a sudden they don't. Very, very frustrating. Good luck with your quest to finding answers and getting this much needed surgery. I will be sending good thoughts your way! Take care, Lori
PinkFlamingoes
on 6/22/06 11:06 am - Buckley, WA
I agree , more & more companies have added un-contestable exclusions . My insurance covered it a year or two ago & now they don't . I think in the long run , it would cost the insurance a lot less if they paid for it . As peoples health dwindles , their medical costs rise , costing them big bucks . Good luck . Kathy
Laura H.
on 6/29/06 4:54 pm - Seattle, WA