I'm a newbie

Jinxy6
on 10/30/18 10:01 am - SC

Hello! This is my intro to the community. So I am 62 years old and have always thought I was too fat. What I know now is that I did not have a realistic self image all those years ago and what I feared had come true. I can't ever remember not worrying about my weight. I have a host of health issues, most weight related and feel exhausted most days.

I have been married to a wonderful guy for 38 years. He has always told me how beautiful he thinks I am and I'm starting to believe him, lol. I have four awesome kids and eight amazing grandkids. (We're we ever that smart?)

About a year and a half ago, my niece had the Verticle sleeve and one year ago this month, my incredibly beautiful daughter had it as well. Now I see these amazing women slimmed way down and getting truly healthy. They feel good and look great so a few months ago I decided that I would do this surgery. It's hard to watch my daughter riding bikes, going to the gym and feeling so, so happy and not feel inspired. I have completed all the classes/requirements and am waiting for final authorization from the insurance company so I can schedule the surgery.

I am not worried about the surgery itself or healing from it. I am worried about a few things tho and would love to hear from those of you with experience.

1) I am concerned about not being able to drink with my meals. That may seem silly but I usually drink at least one if not more glasses of something when I eat. I understand why we can't, it just seems it will be very difficult for me.

2) I am worried about the excess skin and probability of more surgeries down the road. I know I will need breast work at the very least. Two of my sisters had reductions (years ago) and I remember being pretty freaked.