Skin Care in general

ViolentlyDelightful
on 9/19/17 12:34 pm, edited 9/19/17 12:48 pm
VSG on 07/14/17

Wondered if anyone had to change up their skin care routine post op. My face is dryer and just lacking any brightness. I honestly look older in general than from pictures taken a few months ago. Pre op, most people thought I was 8-10 years younger. Surgery date was 7/14/17. I thought maybe losing weight would improve my rosacea. This does not seem to be the case. I had oil skin and used to use Kat Von D liquid lock it foundation. It looked awful and creased almost immediately post op. Had my color matched and went with Makeup forever. It too is horrible.

I currently use Cetaphil cleanser but wondering maybe I should try something else. I'm very new to Hyaluronic acid, alpha hydroxies and all these other chemical names that are supposed to help with aging. I have no been officially diagnosed with Rosacea but that's what it appears to be. I have an appointment with a dermatologist on 10/5. Not sure if I should even bother with trying anything new until I see this doctor. I can honestly say that I'm not getting the appropriate water or protein which in itself may be the cause for aging. Sorry for the wall of text. Just wanted to lay it all out there.

Edit:

Pics

https://imgur.com/a/0VIpD

Gwen M.
on 9/19/17 12:37 pm
VSG on 03/13/14

Lack of hydration can definitely be a culprit. Lack of fat in the diet can also be a culprit. Since you've got an appointment so soon, I recommend that you hold off on changing anything between now and then. It might almost be wise to stop using the products you're currently using well so that the dermatologist can get the best information possible.

Good luck!

VSG with Dr. Salameh - 3/13/2014
Diagnosed with Binge Eating Disorder and started Vyvanse - 7/22/2016
Reconstructive Surgeries with Dr. Michaels - 6/5/2017 (LBL & brachioplasty), 8/14/2017 (UBL & mastopexy), 11/6/2017 (medial leg lift)