Hunger

Cathy30
on 1/2/16 3:49 pm

I will be getting the sleeve in June, I have finished all the pre requirements. I have to wait because I am a teacher. My main question is after the sleeve are you still hungry all the time as I am pre surgery?

rhudson
on 1/2/16 4:19 pm - Melrose Park, IL
VSG on 12/09/14

Hi Cathy, congratulations on your upcoming surgery.

Part of what they remove is the hunger hormone, so at the very least it should lessen and of course it will take much less food to feel satisfied.

For me though, my hunger hasn't returned (yet) and I'm over a year post-op.  It can be challenging, I jus****ch the clock to space my meals throughout the day.  It's hard to "make" yourself eat if you're not actually hungry.  At least it is for me.  I'm doing my best though.

Surgery Date: 12/9/14 - Highest Weight: 349 - Surgery Weight: 305 - Current Weight: 137
Goal reached in 13 months - 212 total pounds lost including pre-op
(M1: -20) (M2: -18) (M3: -11) (M4: -11) (M5: -14) (M6: -1) (M7: -18) (M8: -7) (M9: -15)

(M10: -13) (M11: -7) (M12: -10) (M13: -10) (M14 -6) (M15: -7) - 168 lbs lost post-op

Cathy30
on 1/3/16 7:11 am

Thank you, as it is pre surgery I am hungry all the time.

NateH
on 1/2/16 4:20 pm
VSG on 09/26/14

My surgery was 9/2014 and I've never felt hungry yet/since. I've battled with some mental "hunger" where I think I should be eating. But true, actual, in my gut hunger has not happened at all for me. I'm hopeful this continues for me. 

HW: 450
SW: 428 9/26/14
Reached 'normal' BMI (24.9) with a weight of 199.9: 2/5/2016

(deactivated member)
on 1/2/16 5:52 pm, edited 1/2/16 9:52 am