day 8 and i cant keep anything down!

giselle123
on 10/2/15 3:24 pm

Hello everyone,

I had vertical sleeve last thursday and i have been struggling the last 2 days with keeping anything down. water makes me nauseous, popsicles make me nauseous, i have incredible heartburn regardless of what i eat and im so hungry! what do i do? is this normal? just saw my surgeon today for a one week follow up and everything went well. Im just so hungry and tried to eat some cottage cheese and still barfed....can i have some soup later? Why does water make me sick? im thirsty too! is this normal? will it go away?

Kerrilp37
on 10/2/15 5:32 pm

I'm still 11 days pre op but what your describing sounds like an acid problem! Try a liquid antacid or a natural remedy like Aloe Vera (get it in liquid form at a health food store) or some ginger tea.

I'm no doctor but its worth a try!

hollykim
on 10/2/15 5:36 pm - Nashville, TN
Revision on 03/18/15
On October 2, 2015 at 10:24 PM Pacific Time, giselle123 wrote:

Hello everyone,

I had vertical sleeve last thursday and i have been struggling the last 2 days with keeping anything down. water makes me nauseous, popsicles make me nauseous, i have incredible heartburn regardless of what i eat and im so hungry! what do i do? is this normal? just saw my surgeon today for a one week follow up and everything went well. Im just so hungry and tried to eat some cottage cheese and still barfed....can i have some soup later? Why does water make me sick? im thirsty too! is this normal? will it go away?

some ppl can't drink plain water immediately post op. Try putting some mil drops or some other flavoring in it.

Also,try different temperatures ,some ppl can only drink it room temp,some only ice cold.

Dehydration causes nausea. Did you mention all this to your surgeon? Are you taking something for the excess acid? It also causes nausea.