1.5 month pre surgery...advice please!

Raeraeslife
on 5/8/15 6:23 pm

Hi All,

New here, have been reading for a while but it's my first time posting. I have been overweight my whole life, have had significant ups and downs in weight, but today am at the highest weight of my life. I have been considering wl surgery for about 6 months now, got serious about 3 months ago, and finally made up my mind and set my date for VSG this week. June 17. I'm looking for advice about what I should do with my month and a half to prepare myself. I'm trying to start now with the water, trying to work out as much as possible at my weight without hurting myself to get my strength up. The thing I'm really struggling with is the food and protein. Do you recommend trying to cut back food (of course 2wks preop I'll be starting preop diet, but what about before that)? Should I go ahead and start protein supplements/ shakes? How did you go about choosing protein powder/ shakes ( my mind is boggled by the number of options)? What did you do to prepare yourself mentally? I'm terrified that I'm going to struggle because of how much of an emotional eater I am. I literally depend on food for pretty much everything. I'm looking for any suggestions you have to help me be successful at this.

And one last question...did anyone have last minute cold feet/second thoughts? While I do wholeheartedly think that this surgery is right for me, I still lie awake some nights worrying about if I'm making the right decision. I'm hoping that's normal...

Thanks y'all!

Meghan704
on 5/8/15 7:45 pm
VSG on 06/16/15