folks who workout a lot..heavy weightlifting, crossfit, triathlons etc...

Marioksig
on 1/24/13 3:26 am - Santa Clara, CA

I assure you I am a beginner!!!  Wildflower will be my first - But I have ran a Half and and running two more in the next 3 weeks!

I chugged the Kool Aid!!! I think its a better addiction than McYD's ;)

100 LBS gone in 3 Months! - 150 LBS gone in just over 5 Months! 

200 LBS gone in just under 9 Months!

Please Check out my blog:
www.sheddingounces.net  

(deactivated member)
on 1/24/13 3:38 am

I am going to assume that you will disregard my advice or sentiment on this topic because it really is very contrary to what you seem to believe. But here goes.....

I followed the advice of my surgeon on this one. I started exercising with seriousness about 10-12 weeks out from surgery. At first I could not do very much. I was still pretty damn heavy and very out of shape. I stuck with it and got stronger. I worked (and still do) with a trainer once per week. Eventually, the trainer wanted me take in a higher level of calories and a much higher number of carbs per day. I was very hesitant to do so. So I checked with my doc's team.

I was told that unless I was embarking on a serious athlete level type of training - meaning 3 to 4 hours per of vigorous, calorie burning exercise, I did not need to worry about adjusting my diet terribly. It was explained to me that I had plenty of reserve stores of energy that would keep my energy level up in the form of stored fat. If I chose to eat a high carb snack or meal prior to working out what would happen is that my body would utilize the carbs I had recently eaten for quick and easily accessible energy during my workout and thus essentially eliminate the fat burn.