Advice to Pre-Ops

wls2011
on 11/21/11 12:36 am - Ballston Lake, NY
Great post....I agree there are much more happy, positive posts, than ones addressing the problems and struggles...and we all need to be aware of both sides of the surgery. And it is good to come on here and stay on track....I have been on here more lately for the same exact reason as you....since I was slipping into some junk food trends that were scary. And people need to know that you can eat and drink around the surgery, if you choose to do so. 

To wantmylife: before surgery, I was thinking the same thing...if it is just a tool, maybe I can get by without surgery and just use another tool...if i had to exercise and diet, if that was all this was, I'd done that so many times before with success...I was a pro dieter...the real problem was gaining it all back and then some once I got bored with the diet and went back to my old way of eating....

The thing is...this is not just like another diet....and for me, it has been way easier...it did not take the incredible amount of willpower to stay on small amounts of food...I did not have to go to bed hungry every night while losing weight...I did not have to be lightheaded, cranky, and dizzy from starving all day....the removal of the ghrelin is the difference for me....I don't get that starving feeling constantly. And when I do have a bit of hunger, the beast is easily satisfied with 2-4 oz of food....I also don't think about food constantly anymore...I don't think about all the things I want to eat or start thinking about my next meal while eating a meal....there really was a significant change in my body chemistry from the surgery that has made my post op life manageable...