Interesting facts about the BMI Scale

Megdrassil
on 4/25/11 5:41 am - MI
BMI has always driven me insane.  When I was in highschool.. I was 5'1 (still am) and weighed 175.  I was a semi professional extremely compeditive powerlifter and was thin!!  But my BMI said I was obese.. BLAH!!

Seelessofme22
on 4/25/11 5:43 am - MD
That is ridiculous!!  Well, now you know better...Don't let that stupid BMI scale run your life...lol
Follow me on youtube - http://www.youtube.com/user/seelessofme22
HW - 311; SW - 296; CW - 191; 1st GW - 190; 2nd GW - 180?

"Coming together is a beginning, staying together is progress, and working together is success." 
FreeJulie
on 4/25/11 5:42 am - WA
I've been watching this movie "Fat Head" on Netflix (instant streaming)  - you should check it out! Part of what they talk about is the "obesity epidemic" and how one in four people are obese. Then they show a lot of "obese" people according to the BMI scale, and it is laughable how *not obese* they are. Very interesting movie.
Julie, 5' 3", age 42. Starting weight: 263, Surgery weight: 255
Blogging at www.freejulie.blogspot.com        
Kristy R.
on 4/25/11 5:49 am - Santa Clara, CA
 My surgeon uses it as a guide and he hasn't let me down so far.  The range he gave me is one that I am comfortable with and I think will work for me.  It IS just a guide, and not the end all, be all.  If I get near that range and I don't think it is right for me, I will discuss with my PCP/Surgeon.  I agree with the premise of remembering that these are just guidelines and not everyone fits the "ideal".  Best wishes!
~Kristy~ VSG 3/29/11 ~ 15 pounds lost pre-op, SW - 240/GW - 150

Seelessofme22
on 4/25/11 5:59 am - MD
You are right...it is just a guide but some people treat it as gospel.  My doc never set a goal weight for me...they told me a realistic percentage of excess weight that I could lose.