Help! Ok so now Im confused...

Mandi E.
on 4/22/11 9:52 am - Kissimmee, FL
Kisha,

Here's my opinion take it for what it's worth. If you get the RNY you're opening yourself up to vitamin deffinciencies, you're more likely to loose your hair, your teeth, and there's the lovely dumping syndrome. All for what an extra 10% CHANCE of lossing more body mass weight? Seriously, this tool can do the EXACT same thing for you without the issues. There are NO long term complications and you'll be able to eat normal food the rest of your life. Do you really plan to NEVER eat another sweet? That's what it'll be like with RNY. I've been researching this for 6 years now before I made my decision. My best friend is getting the RNY on May 19th. I'm all for it. Because it's a personal choice. However shame on your surgeon for trying to talk you out of it. I got the questiona at my initial consultation but was very adament about having the sleeve. It's what works for you. NOT WHAT PUTS MORE MONEY IN YOUR SURGEON'S POCKETS!! Just think it through and do what's best for you!! I hope this helps. If you need support I'm always here to talk to!

xoxo~Mandi
"I don't mind living in a man's world, as long as I can be a woman in it!" ~Marilyn Monroe
 HW:422LBs Pre-op:394LBs SW:391.6LBs CW:303LBs GW:190LBs (5'10")
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

SassyItalian
on 4/22/11 10:55 am - Basseterre, St. Kitts and Nevis
You need to do more thorough research so you can have your own opinion on which is best for you. The body being operated on is yours, no one elses, and you owe it to yourself to be as informed about the benefits and risks of each surgery.

Being better informed will help with your weight loss also no matter which procedure you choose.

On the right hand upper corner of the screen there is a section of advantages and disadvantages for the VSG and I am sure the same for RNY on their page. Familiarize yourself with the ins and outs.