Quitting Smoking for surgery

Susan0714
on 4/14/11 7:55 am - Kenner, LA
I was just a social smoker as well, so I quit when the NP told me to stop.. I stopped last November, and it is true when you stop and you go by someone smoking it really does stink..

I am a Pharm Tech, and I have heard a lot of people say how much they LOVE chantix..

Good luck

Susan
justeric78
on 4/14/11 8:01 am - Houston, TX
i quit about 2 weeks ago and started my liquid diet on Monday. It was hard but really I found concentrating on the surgery and the liquid diet helped me not to care as much about the smoking. I have tried in the past and this time was a breeze in comparrison. I used the gum for about a week but gave that up too since it is the nicotine that is bad not just the smoke. On top of everything posted above it also gives you a higher chance of blood clots post surgery since it hurts blood flow. Chewing regular gum though has helped me a ton through the smoking and the liquid diet. I think I am going to be okay now! I was really worried about it though too.
lisa M.
on 4/14/11 8:12 am
I had to quit when I was diagnosed with breast cancer. It was really scary! When they told me I had cancer and said that I needed to go in and have a chest xray I wouldn't do it. I was too afraid that I had cancer there as well. Besides the cancer risk, you don't heal as well when you are a smoker. It's really hard to quit but once you get it out of your system it's a lot easier. You can live without cigarettes really well. Plus, you will be able to afford all the new clothes you will need once you have your sleeve and start losing weight. You will be amazed at how great you will feel. It
Ratfinkshell
on 4/14/11 8:13 am - Fullerton, CA
Nicorette gum, I know it's not the best tasting but as soon as I'd get a craving for a cigarette I'd go outside and chew chew chew lol. Still fighting the temptaions after surgery but coming from smoking a pack a day I'd say I'm doing pretty damn good now!