New Sleevers - You CAN Do This

OldMedic
on 3/30/11 3:05 am - Alvaton, KY
For all of the newly sleeved (and those who soon will be).

I weighed 365.5 pounds, on a 6 foot frame, at the time of my surgery.  I was 65 years old, I HATE exercise in all of its forms (I had more than enough of that stuff during 10 years in the Army), and I absolutely LOVE  to eat (I am a very good cook and baker).

I also had Diabetes II, and was required to take the maximum possible daily doseages of four different oral medications.  Insulin had been recommended (I fought against it).

My triglycerides were out of sight on the high end.

My ldl/hdl ratio was to die for (it was so bad, it was a minor miracle I hadn't had a stroke or a heart attack).

I wheezed and puffed like a leaky steam engine, walking to my mailbox which is exactly 300 feet from my front door.  I should more accurately say, "slowly strolled", because what I was doung would hardly qualify as "walking".  I had to rest a couple of minutes before setting off to go back to the house.  That was 100% of the "exercise" that I had gotten for about 5 years.

I used a cane to "walk", because my back pain was so bad (I have 2 compression fractures in my spine).

You get the picture.  I was a fat old slob, waiting to die.

But, I didn't want to die.  I enjoy my wife, my daughters, my grandsons, and my church and fraternal organization.  I wanted to be around, if possible, for my 50th anniversary (God willing).  So, about 2002, I began to research weight loss surgery.

I used two medical school libraries and computer systems (USC and UC San Diego) as well as their general libraries.  I researched on-line, I discovered the sleeve, and really wanted it, but didn't have the funds.  I abhor debt, so what to do?

To make a long story short, eventually the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA)