I saw myself today.

MrsTonyaBrown
on 5/6/06 2:51 am - Jacksonville, FL
The meeting on Thursday night was on Psychological Effects and Changes After Surgery. There were many good points and questions brought up and I feel better having been able to talk about them. My point being, one of the topics was body image. I've always been a large woman. In high school, I was always "the fat one." I was 260 lbs when I graduated in 1992. I was a little over 300 lbs when I met my husband in 1999 and got up to 405 lbs on the day our daughter was born in 2004. This surgery was really a last ditch effort to save my own life. I needed these food restrictions and monthly support to keep me on track. I had my surgery on August 15, 2005. My surgeon has my surgery weight as 379 lbs, but I count the 405 lbs as to me, having lost from my highest should count. As of today, May 6, 2006, I'm down to 248 lbs. That's a loss of 131 lbs from my surgery weight and 157 lbs from my highest. That's a whole human, plus some. They asked the question as to do you see yourself as the weight you are. I've always said Yes because everyone has always reminded me of how fat I was, so I always saw myself as 400 lbs and rising. I saw myself as a blimp who couldn't ride on planes or amusement park rides, who broke chairs and toilet seats, who needed an extender on her seatbelt in the car. I knew I was fat and was seriously ashamed. Today, my husband and I went grocery shopping. A very petite lady walked in ahead of me and as the door closed behind her, I saw my own reflection in the glass and I honestly thought to myself, "Wow, I HAVE lost a lot of weight." My husband laughed because he knows the issues I've had with my body image. He said, "Finally, you can see yourself like I see you." I wanted to cry but I didn't. I just laughed and went on in, with my head held high. I even filled out an online questionnaire and was surprised that I'm almost into their "average" body size category. Even now, I'm still am