trying again, please give advice

Shelly M.
on 2/18/06 4:01 pm - Woodbridge, VA
hi everyone, im new to the post, my situation is this..last year I applied for WLS through medicaid and was denied. My PCP did not think that WLS was the way to go, she wants everyone to do diet and exercise till they are a size 6. Well I did not know this until after i was denied. I switched doctors and am now seeing fnp foster-weiss. she is wonderful, thought i still have not popped the WLS question to her I have been letting her know about my struggle. I also have medicare now as well as medicaid. I am going in for a sleep study tomorrow and am going to quit smoking with my doctors help in 2 weeks. I have diabetes,asthema, pain everywhere, skin problems and other things wrong due to my weight. i am 4'11" and weight about 215. i think that makes my bmi a little over 42. I am 22 years old and want to have a healthy life, i want children one day and also want to be able to do normal day to day things without being "weighed down" What would you say would be my next step for getting the surgery? thank you all
Kennie29
on 2/18/06 5:02 pm - Chesapeake, VA
Honey, I would find a doctor and attend a seminar, they are opened to the public and then go from there. They will guide you the process, but the first step is to go to a seminar or a support group to get some info from the doctors and their patients. I had surgery on the 6th and have been doing great great great! I had mine done LAP so now long scare just five small ones, my doctor is awesome. I feel so much better, but I started my process last November just attending them seminar and going from there!! Good luck honey!! Kennie
TammyNVA
on 2/18/06 7:58 pm - Chesterfield, VA