back to work????

cpatters
on 2/3/06 1:36 am - Rockingham County, VA
hello! I was wondering how long did some of you stay off from work? I hear that some go back as soon as a week or 2 after. I am NOT ready for all that yet. I had lap on 1/23 and due to complications they had to go back in on 1/24 to fix a blockage. I will not get my g-tube out until my follow up visit on 2/9. I still feel weak and sore. I work in a factory. ( not a sit down day light job ) I am scared that I will HAVE to go back as soon as my tube is out. Can anyone give me some information on what happened to them? I know that the decission will come from my surgeon and my FMLA representive at work, but I would love to have a heads up from all of you.... You all are such a great help to me...... cathy
Tam
on 2/3/06 2:00 am - Richmond, VA
Cathy, I had open RNY and was scheduled to be out of work for six weeks. I had this period of time preapproved with my FMLA/STD rep at work. I developed a stricture at five weeks post op, so I was out for six and a half weeks for full days and then I went in for half days for two weeks. If you have a factory job maybe you could talk with your surgeon and ask about returning to work for half days for at least a week...maybe more than that. I highly recommend taking off at least four weeks after surgery but I think the standard is around six weeks if you have no complications. I did not have a g tube so I can not answer anything to do with that. Good luck! Tammy C 9 months out -159 lbs (and still going!)
Susan E.
on 2/3/06 3:44 am - Purcellville, VA