Smoking???????

elvera
on 1/4/06 3:15 am - LaPlata, MD
Hi to you all. I have a major problem!!!!! I have been smoking for 40 years. I stopped for 3 days. But today I just had to have a cig. The thing is is that I also have diebetes, and I am having troble controlling it. Last night it was over 300. Now they say that I need to get the number controlled befor surgery. So when I don't smoke I eat more which makes my blood sugar go up. And I'm suppose to stop smoking for the surgery. One of the big reasons for the surgery is the diabetes, so what if my sugar isn't controlled? That's what the surgery is for. The smoking is another thing. Anyone out there have a problem with smoking???? Please let me know how far in advanced did you stop before surgery. Or didn't you.... I need some help!!!!!!! My surgery date is Jan. 31. And thanks you all for the wonderful welcome a few days ago..... Elvera
(deactivated member)
on 1/4/06 4:50 am - I Do Believe .. I Do I Do .., VA
Sweety . I am going to tell you hard and cold . STOP NOW . I was a smoker and diabetic before surgery . When my surgeon said stop .. I did .. was it hard .. HELL YEA .. I thought I would die with out my ciggies . But what was more important was I would die with them . I had to ask myself how bad I wanted this surgery .. and I wanted it baaaaaddd .. I know it is hard .. and finding options when trying to quit there are many . I quit 12 weeks prior to my surgery date . I wish you all the luck in the world .. and we are here for you . Always, Pix .. ( who yes stil smokes but is quiting .. ( one day )
Betsy Anitahug
on 1/4/06 5:05 am - Danville, VA
Elvera, Like Nat said....STOP now...I hadn't smoked for years before the surgery but I must say that a week after, I am a smoker again.. I am not proud of it but please do what the doctor says....It is best for you and the surgery. Hugs,\ Betsy
Carole V.
on 1/4/06 5:39 am - Virginia Beach, VA